Bombshell Perfume updated Monday afternoon

marilyn_monroe_320x240jpg.jpg

At the request of a reader, I am presenting a list of perfumes a bombshell would and would not wear as appears in The Bombshell Manual of Style by Lauren Stover.

Monday update appears in () and bold writing.  This is waaay easier than reposting!

Arpege by Lanvin

bombshell user: Jayne Mansfield

Chanel – – “all except Allure which she might buy for a niece but finds too girlish for herself”

no 22 bombshell: Catherine Denevue

no 5 bombshell: Marilyn Monroe

Diorissimo by Christian Dior (How did she miss Miss Dior?? It’s almost ladylike with a skank under current that gives new meaning to lady in the street, ho’  between the sheets!)

Femme by Rochas (I love this one though prefer the new formula with the extra kick of cumin.  see my post on it for further thoughts)

bombshells: Mae West and yours truly

Fracas by Piguet (What, no bandit in honor of Bettie Page?)

bombshells: Marilyn, Kim Basinger

Gardenia Passion by Annick Goutal

Jicky by Guerlain (cool, refreshing with just a nice bit of dirt in the composition to keep it from getting boring)

bombshell: Bridgette Bardot

Joy by Jean Patou

bombshells: Josephine Baker, Gloria Swanson, and Marilyn Monroe

L’Heure Bleue

bombshell: Patricia Arquette

Mitsouko by Guerlain

bombshell: Jean Harlow

My Sin by Lanvin (this one I wonder about.  Everytime I tested I got aldehydes and no magic.  maybe it’s me, but all I could smell was hotel soap.  How is that sexy?)

bombshell Jayne Mansfield

Norell by Revlon

bombshell: Faye Dunaway

Nude by Bill Blass

Shalimar by Guerlain

bombshells: Gina Lollabrigida and Rita Hayworth

Spring Flower by Creed

Tabu by Dana

Tabac Blond by Caron

Narcisse Noir by Caron

bombshell :Gloria Swanson

Naricsse Blanc by Caron

Nuit de Noel by Caron

bombshell: me and auntie mame

(the carons are fabulous.  though I would definately add Parfum Sacre to the list.)

Vent Vert by Balmain

bombshell: Bridgette Bardot

White Shoulders by Evyan

Youth Dew by Estee Lauder

bombshells: Dolores Del Rio, Gloria Swanson and Joan Crawford

Perfumes Bombshells NEVER wear

“Anything that smells like food: vanilla, single fruit notes like strawberry or apple.  Jolting, loud or overwhelming fragrances like Opium, Poison, and Giorgio.  Overtly green scents like Calyx, Laura Ashley — too innocent.  Obsession.  CK One.  Eternity.  Musk. Tea Rose.  Charlie.”  (I think she had a bad elevator and Poison experience.  and personally, I think vanilla done right is very very bombshell.  THink Le Labo or even Dior’s Hypnotic.  They are non food, all femme vanillas that do not remind me of food in the least.)

I have reviewed a few of these already and will place any further bombshell perfume reviews in the category marked bombshell in the future.  What would you add or remove from either list and why?  I’ll be adding my input on the choices and what I would remove or add Tuesday.  Until then, discuss!!

Other things I would add would include

Hermes Eau Des Merveilles for the near man-cologne sandy, stubbly venus rising out of the ocean wonder it is.  It’s kind of skin scent and reeks of sex and mystery.  worn at the beach or quiet intimate encounters, sprayed at the nape of the neck

Del Rae’s Amoureuse — big flowers, lots of indolic muskiness.  It’s very womanly, very sexy and completely a bombshell.  Worn anytime anywhere, esp in spring and summer with sundresses and shades

MDCI Enlevement au Serail — the love-child of Femme and Mitsouko.  seriously erotic stuff, goes best with black lacy things, maribou slippers, a scotch and “come over here dahhhhliinnng” purred in a deep throaty whisper

Desprez Bal a Versaille  it’s a warmer, sensual dark orange.  I’d say it is what I thought Narcisse Noir would be but wasn’t for me.  Bombshells would wear this in the rain or cloudy days to invite people a little bit close rto thier sun and warmth

Fredric Malle Musc Raveguer

photo from biography.com.

Published in: on March 31, 2008 at 9:26 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://perfumequeen.wordpress.com/2008/03/31/bombshell-perfume/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s so sad. I actually like Calyx. I guess I’m not a bombshell. On the other hand, my grandma wears Joy, so maybe being a bombshell isn’t what I’m after.

  2. Lissa, thank you! This saves me a trip to the bookstore. I’m not familiar with Caron fragrances yet but if you and Auntie Mame wear it, then it’s obviously a must-try now. I’ve heard good and bad things about Rochas’ Femme and have been trying to hunt down a vintage bottle for ages just so I can see for myself. Ebay has proven to be hopeless since sometimes one tiny sample goes into the triple digits and I kind of have this other nagging financial obligation called rent. I’m not that into Chanel to tell the truth. You know what I find annoying though? Young 18-22 year olds who claim No. 5 as their signature scent, perhaps in an attempt to make themselves appear sophisticated. I feel like perfume is something that has to match your personality, your age, and your skin chemistry. Maybe I’m just a fragrance snob but I also think that the right to wear a certain scent, especially the deeply intricate ones, has to be “earned.” One time I was sitting next to this young girl reeking Frederic Malle’s Carnal Flower and I asked her how she chose that particularly strong scent and she replied, “Oh, this is my Mom’s. I don’t know anything about perfume but I just put it on because I didn’t have anything else.” And I was like, UGH, how dare you disgrace this fragrance with your insolent ignorance. 😉

    ANYWAY, thanks for listing all those “bombshell” fragrances. There are definitely many on there that I must now go seek out and smell for myself. 🙂

  3. HH
    DO try the Caron’s. I think they real bits of art and have yet to find one I don’t at least appreciate if not love. A few people don’t wear the base well, but if you do run and find samples.
    Maybe it isn’t so much you have to earn a righ to wear a perfume, but more like aquire enough miles. I find certain perfumes just didn’t work for me until I grew up a bit more and came into myself a bit more, if that makes sense. No. 5 never worked on me until after I had a baby. Also, I couldn’t appreciate some perfumes, like feminite du bois or mitsouko at first sniff. I had to resample a few times after experiencing other things first. Kind of like completing pre-requisites before taking advanced courses. It may have been my nose needed to be detoxed and untrained from all the fruity clean fresh stuff that is so popular today.
    The girl with the Carnal Flower is lucky her mom has such perfume taste. I’m trying to wean mine off of Tea Rose. gack. Hopefully her incidental wearing of Carnal Flower will sublimanlly make an inpression on her and help to cure the younger set of the Bath and Body Works syndrome.
    Thank you so much for reading and posting such a thoughtful comment. I look forward to seeing your input on here more regularily.

  4. my PQ BFF
    If Calyx works it’s intended magic on you, wear it with pride. ANything you wear that makes you feel sexy and desireable is bombshell. ANd maybe your grannie was a hot one in her hey day. Besides, with my influence you can’t help but have a little BS rub off on you 😉

  5. What do we think of Lola by Marc Jacobs, Coco Mademoiselle by Chanel and Euphoria by Calvin Klein as Bombshell Perfumes? Would love an opinion from some fellow Bombshells (Absolutely ADORED Ms. Stover’s book, by the way).


Leave a Reply

