Djedi, wearing o’ the green

Love is not always kittens and butterflies and boxes from Tiffany’s.  Sometimes love can be the most tortuous agony you could ever know. It will bring you to your knees, pour salt on your willing wounds as it scars you for life and then brings you back for more.  It doesn’t smell of chocolate and sweet roses, it is the smell of mourning and decay, the smell of Guerlain’s Djedi. 

 

The quick mechanics before the prose:

At first dab, you wait half a second before WHOA Djedi nails you in the nose with an array of olfactory projectiles.  Traces of cinnamon, the driest, darkest-velvet indolent rose ever and some smouldering, mouldering skank.  The skank, while more eloquent than say, CB I hate perfume’s musk reinvention, is shocking. This is the level of shock I expected from Bandit.  However, Bandit was a pansy in comparison to this bad mother.   As for the leather, it is a dry leather, yet it is the driest leather soaked in horse sweat and left near the fire.  For the first time in a long while, a perfume has stopped me dead in my tracks.  Nose glued to my wrist I get hints of everything from florals, to metal to syrupy cinnamon to the animalics smothering me, but in a good smothering way.  Throughout the piece, oak moss pops her head out of the animalic rose bog, reminding you who is boss.  Then suddenly, Djedi is gone, leaving a trace of vetiver to haunt you as you sniff frantically to find more. 

The prose

What does this perfume bring up for me?  Loss.  Grief.  Mourning.  Some perfumes, such as  Encens et Lavande are meant for mourning those who have passed into the next world.  You wear white, light white candles and know they are in a better, happier place.  Djedi in contrast is the one you wear to wallow in your gothic misery ala Catharine and Heathcliff.  You can smell the dark moors, the castle ruins.  You can smell the cruel joke fate plays making two people destined to love each other however not destined to be together. Other imagery, particularily in the smouldering animalics, is the Story of O and Roissy.  This lesser known novel tells the tale of a woman so in love with her lover she submits entirely to him.  The story is complex, evoking a range of emotions from humiliation to understanding to despair. Other images include monks, monastaries, dark woods and sinister plots. Djedi smells like a gotic romance reads and completely overtakes you.  For me personally it reminds me of a period in my life gone quite awry romantically. Complete with twists and turns, betrayals and deceptions, dark secrets and good intentions, it started innocently enough with real love and left much damage in it’s wake. When I apply Djedi it awakens that part of me that chose to forget and haunts me to the vetvier whisper of a drydown.  Deeply romantic as it is deeply agonizing I catch myself yearning to bring out my tiny sample vial and sniff once in a great while.      

Consider these lyrics to the video “I Miss You” by Blink 182. 

I miss you
I miss you
Hello there
The angel from my nightmare
The shadow in the background of the morgue
The unsuspecting victim
Of darkness in the valley
We can live like Jack and Sally if we want
Where you can always find me
And we’ll have Halloween on Christmas
And in the night we’ll wish this never ends
We’ll wish this never ends
I miss you
I miss you
I miss you
I miss you
Where are you
And I’m so sorry
I cannot sleep
I cannot dream tonight
I need somebody and always
This sick strange darkness
Comes creeping on
So haunting every time
And as I stared I counted
The webs from all the spiders
Catching things and eating their insides
Like indecision to call you
And hear your voice of treason
Will you come home and stop this pain tonight
Stop this pain tonightDon’t waste your time on me
Your already the voice inside my head
[I miss you I miss you]
Don’t waste your time on me
Your already the voice inside my head
[I miss you I miss you]

Don’t waste your time on me
Your already the voice inside my head
[I miss you I miss you]
Don’t waste your time on me
Your already the voice inside my head
[I miss you I miss you]
Don’t waste your time on me
Your already the voice inside my head
[I miss you I miss you]
Don’t waste your time on me
Your already the voice inside my head
[I miss you I miss you]
I miss you
I miss you

I miss you
I miss you

I miss you
I miss you
 

 

 

Yes, it is semi pop, but it embodies Djedi in it’s dramatic dark imagery, mournful strings and and moments of tender bells. It tears at your heart.

And the practical

I personally ordered this samp on a lemming and at first hated it on intial sniff. Too dry, to stanky, too much.  I dismissed it for awhile. I spent many months sniffing other things, training my nose if you will and came back to it able to appreciate it and see the story in the smell if you will.  It’s very hard to come by, Ebay has a bottle currently going for over $900 and the auction still goes on.  Its isn’t something most people would wear regularly, more like bring out to disturb the dead, much like Heathcliff disturbed Cathrine’s grave to bring her out of her peace to haunt him – just to be near her again.  So don’t go nuts looking for it. 

notes rose, musk leather, civet vetvier, oakmoss patchouli

Published in: on March 26, 2008 at 10:17 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://perfumequeen.wordpress.com/2008/03/26/djedi-wearing-o-the-green/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. too dry? too stanky? Not for me!! This one was love at first sniff. I loooove dry, especially a dry chypre type perfume, and this one definitely is dry! To me, I get leather, patchouli, some vetiver, some vetiver, no horse sweat!
    I also get what I think you nailed as the syrupy cinnamon – it’s in the background on my skin and I have been trying to figure out what that note is so thanks for describing it so well. Sure is a great classic perfume.

  2. actually, the horse sweat isn’t a bad thing, I kinda like the intensity . Intense. that is the key word here. It’s like a very dark chocolate or very expensive wine. a little is a treat too much is a hangover.

  3. I think you are right – it is an intense perfume. I think that is what I like so much about it. I sure wish it was still in production. Sigh.

  4. yes, I wish it were too. It’s definately a piece of artthat everyone should give a sniff to, several times, and experience. I’m going to try the Onda that I hear is pretty close to it and slightly more attainable. Though it won’t be quite the same, even if it is close enough to fool the blind.

  5. […] Thunderstorms- the kind with lots of lightening and loud booming thunder claps deserve Onda or Djedi.  Either are particularily good if you walk around in the storm.  You can pretend to be Catharine […]


Leave a Reply

