Friday Candy Jar Day Le Labo Vanille

flame2.jpg

I picked up the spray vial of Le Labo Vanille and sniffed. OMG  smokey incensy vanilla heaven.  just from smelling the vial, this has to be good.  already smells like what I thougt sdv would be.  bergamot, incense, gaiac wood, mandarin, vanilla, muscenone, pipol and hedioneh .

Openers, I get the bergamot and mandarin very subtly.  It definately does not open with shower fresh citrus in an attempt to fool you into thinking it’s a kiddie ‘fume.  Just what a room temperature orange peel might smell like dancing with some woods. Meanwhile vanilla dances around them and inbetween them, never cutting in, just joining the circle. 

side note:  I am not a big fan of vanillas.  I detest perfumes that make you smell edible or innocent or, like in SDV’s case, just damn boozy. I do not understand those who LUV blah blah blah vanilla sugar and plastic .  In Le Labo Vanille, the vanilla is a suggestion, as though some one dried a vanilla bean and orange peel, and put it in a fire built with a few aromatic woods.    It is warm, sensual and snuggly particularily when the amber comes out to play.

Further into the wear, I am realizing I don’t want to shower, even though I really need to wash my hair.  The ambery dirty bits are cuddling up to my smokey vanilla veil, I am completely transfixed.  I suddenly wish it were much, much colder outside, as I have a feeling it would really take off in cold air and silliage would wrap it’s self around me like a fur coat to keep me warm in the chilly night.  While the juice on skin doesn’t smell exactly like the fume emanating from the bottle, it does evolve and then smolder rather nicely. 

Now the bad part….it is 1. ungodly expensive.  I’d have to give up eating.  and 2. the BASTARDS (yes, I said it.  we’re all thinking it, so might as well) not only made it expensive, but exclusive to Paris.  So, although I have a friend who is hanging out in gay Paris, I cannot bring myself to ask him to procure me a bottle.  bastards.  Really now, if you come up with something pretty spectacular WHY do you make it so hard to obtain?  oh yippee, I am wearing something that costs more than a car payment and I can only get it on mars on the third moon’s thursday wearing a blue penguin suit, but hey y’all it’s an exclusive niche.  hurray for me.  Seriously, what’s that about?

So morally, I can’t really justify buying a bottle, and I shouldn’t buy a decant either out of principle.  Unless, of course, a Parsian falls in love with Aldehyde 44 by Le Labo, which BTW is only available in Dallas, Texas  and wants to swap me for some Vanille.  That I could live with.

picture :http://www.yankeerobotics.com/images/jw_flame_yankee.jpg

Published in: on February 29, 2008 at 9:22 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://perfumequeen.wordpress.com/2008/02/29/friday-candy-jar-day-le-labo-vanille/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

