Gucci’s Coochie : a Review for Gucci Eau de Parfum

As I mentioned from my previous post, the other day I recieved a box of goodies from another perfumista.  Upon opening the box filled with a plethora of bottles, all I could think was “wow.  something in there is sure skanky!”  After doing a bottle sniff of each I determined it was the bottle of Gucci Eau de Parfum that was skanking up the group.  Not feeling brave, I tried two of the lighter offerings and put the skankster away for another day.  Which was today.

   After two days of sucessfully testing Chamade and unsucessfully testing fleurs de rocaille (too soft to smell!) I wanted something really juicy, and boy did I get it.  I sprayed this one with abandon and went outside awhile to really feel it’s effects.

 The notes are as follows in no particular order as they show up in no real order on me in the various testings :

Vanilla Absolute, Heliotrope, Citrus, Orris, Thyme, Orange Blossom, Cumin, Musk.
 At first there was a nice citrus-herbal bit, which I think must be the thyme and orange blossoms.  It sparkled on my skin just as the sunlight sparkled off of the pool’s water surface.  Then minutes later, it became sweet, just a hair shy of cloyingly sweet.  This near cloying floral-vanilla sweetness was interwoven with THE note that can make or break depending on its usage –  – cumin. 

Who doesn’t love cumin in thier food?  It’s the spice that trancends many cultures and makes everything from hummus to posole gastronomic heaven.  Just smelling it in it’s spice jar makes me hungry and thinking of my favorite foods.  However, putting it in a perfume composition can be perfection or murder.  Case in point; the new Femme by Rochas.  Cumin weaves itself between the juiciness of the plum to make a perfume that smells delectable without being foody.  In contrast, Musc de Khoubli Khan uses the same spice to make some, not all, smell like a NYC cabbie.  NOT my favorite thing to smell.  Both perfumes are promoted to be sultry and sexual. 

  In Gucci Eau de Parfum, the effect is something like mild body odor and vanilla.  As disgusting as it sounds, it’s actually fabulously intriguing.  It brings to mind a european woman in the traditional american sterotype: the woman rumored to not bathe as frequently and let her underarm hair grow.  However, she is sexy as hell, and can probably cook a great creme brulee.  Imagine Brigette Bardot or Sophia Loren in the kitchen.  Bare feet, well done hair, winged eye liner and a peasant blouse stirring the vanilla scented brulee batter while sweating a tad in the non air condtioned heat.  Before I get blasted by mean comments, I think this is the great and strange thing about sex appeal.  Napolean would direct his mistress Joesephine to not bathe before his return to her.  Those pheremones in the unwashedness would have some sort of olfactory association with unwashed body skank and kept him coming back for more.  Men these days are still like that, though it isn’t polite to admit. 

Older perfumes capitalized on this bit o’ skank honey factor while new scent manufactering want us to smell fruity and mundane.  (think Bath and Body works and the array of celeb-fumes)  Gucci EDP is a 2002 release and takes a slight risk with the cumin, though balances it safely with the sweets.

In the end of the wearing, I am left with a trace of vanilla-cumin musk and lots of incense.  Bottle worthy?  Not sure.  I am intrigued by the day and a half of wearing, and quite fond of it.  But, I do think it plays it a bit safe for me and wish the cumin-vanilla phase was more forward and longer lasting.  Who knows, maybe it will change on a differnt wearing.  Until then it will be a lovely flirtation with this modern bombshell. 

Published in: on August 28, 2007 at 1:32 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://perfumequeen.wordpress.com/2007/08/28/guccis-coochie-a-review-for-gucci-eau-de-parfum/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yay! Your very first comment!
    I love perfume, though I have just begun the journey. My nose is unsophisticated as of yet, but I am getting better as I go along. I just bought a bottle of this on ebay, unsniffed, obviously, and am now looking forward to seeing if the skank factor is too much, too little or just right.
    Question: I just sprayed some Jil Sander #4 on my arm the other day, and it morphed into a Bond no. 9 Chinatown clone. Have you ever heard/experienced this??

  2. Molly,

    My first commentor! And you’re not one of my relations. hurray!
    I think the skank factor depends on your skin chemistry. Somedays I get more cumin than not.
    I have tried Jil no. 4 a few times and I haven’t gotten chinatown from it. However, I don’t have a sample of Bond o. 9 Chinatown to match against. I smelled it on a stingy SA spritized card at Saks and was so not impressed with the customer service that day I think it tainted my chinatown experience. Which is a shame because it always sounds great. But I guess the experience imprinted on me as I still balk at even buying a decant.
    Now I feel compulsed to visit a certain decant site, make a third order this week for some Chinatown and dis in my candy jar for Jil. Or maybe I will be tacky, apply the Jil, head to Saks and demand an arm spritz or Chinatown….I’m intrigued

  3. I’m gonna try it again and see if it morphs, or if it was my imagination. I would be happy to send you a sample of Chinatown, then you won’t have to deal with rude salespeople!
    Also- Guerlain Mahora. I love it. Have you tried it? I bought that unsniffed too, though I have no idea why. Think it was really cheap on ebay. (Yes, I have a bit of an addiction here.)

  4. Molly,

    a sample would be a delight. I will send you my mailing address via email. I have tried Mahora which I found to be very lovely. I also tried Mayotte, it’s reissue name which is a bit different. I will be blasphemous and say I prefer it. Have you tried Mayotte? Addiction….I think alot of people have this addiciton. I refuse to look and figure out how much I’ve spent in the last few months. I don’t think I could bear to know.

  5. Nope, haven’t tried Mayotte as of yet.
    It’s rather comforting to know that I’m not the only one who spends outrageous amounts on perfume. I may be in the poorhouse when this is all said and done, but I’ll smell good….
    Yes, send me your address and I’ll send you some Chinatown.

  6. Love vanilla, but cumin (in perfume) does not seem to work for me, so I’ll hold off on the Gucci. Brave of you to buy a bottle unsniffed, Molly. I try to sample everything first, as I have made a few purchases I regret…

  7. I love Gucci edp. Whilst I find the musks challenging to wear, cumin poses no problem for me whatsoever.

  8. Welcome Leopoldo, and thank you for the comment! I find Gucci edp is starting to really grow on me. If you can wear cumin you must find the new Femme to be divine. I’ve got a review of that one on the way.

    PS I totally dig your postings on http://www.PerfumePosse.com. The whole crew there rocks my world!


Leave a Reply

